Day Two–Still in California

Tuesday, January 7th, 2014

Today I could not but help to think of how exactly Africa will be.  It is most obvious that it will be a completely different place when compared to the United States.  Nevertheless, this consumes my thoughts–especially today.  Day two without my phone has already become surprisingly difficult.  I miss being able to be in contact with my friends, my family, the outside world, etc.  Even though this is a challenge never experienced or even comparable to those of Dorothy Day, Mother Theresa, and Nelson Mandela.  I find myself complaining about not having these material goods anymore–yet I know there are millions if not billions of people in South Africa and the world who have never experienced or had the change to enjoy these items too.  This is the difference between these cultures.  Yes, some may view this as simply as the “haves” and the “have nots.”  But is that how we should view the world?  Of course not.  Just because we are two different skin colors with two different values does not mean that we are entirely different.  Why must we focus on the things in which we do not have in common?  Why do people do this?  It is quite frustrating when people cause such conflict because of this.  We are all of God’s children–we have much more in common than we do in differences.  While watching the film A Dry White Season, we saw the massacre of children in Soweto.  This is something that has forever changed the way I view apartheid.  How could a government result to wars like this?  I’ve got many questions before we leave for South Africa tomorrow!

My best always,

Philip

12:27 A.M.

The picture below is the most iconic image of the children’s massacre in Soweto, South Africa that took place in 1976.  Hector Pieterson is the wounded child who is carried by Mbuyisa Makhubo after being shot by South African police. His sister, Antoinette Sithole, runs beside them. Pieterson was declared dead on arrival.

Image

Leave a comment